fuzzy Cisco VPN client software on Vista

/***
Feb 04, 2009 : the latest update: do 1 thing to fix "Error 442: Failed to enable virtual adapter" in Cisco VPN client by "Control Panel -> Network Connections: disable then enable the "local area connection".

Ignore my previous post, which works sometimes however.

***/

It really became fuzzy and drove me mad tonight. I was supposed to VPN to office from home, then upload some files to Oracle metalink. As normal, I open Cisco vpn client, gave username/password when got prompted, but it just popped 442 error "442: failed to enable virtual adapter" after silent there 10 secs. What is that?

Google got a FAQ for me: "CISCO VPN Client Software on Windows Vista"  (http://geekswithblogs.net/evjen/archive/2007/01/01/102429.aspx),  very bad, solution in that did not work for me.

"Error 442: Failed to enable virtual adapter
Open Network and Sharing Center
Open Network Connection Manager
Enable the virtual adapter (“Cisco VPN Adapter”)
Right-click on it and select “Diagnose”
Select “Fix…”

If this doesn’t work
Run the following from ‘cmd’:
reg add HKLMSystemCurrentControlSetServicesTcpipParameters /v ArpRetryCount /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
Reboot

NOTE: If customer has UAC enabled, s/he must run ‘cmd’ as administrator.
"

I tried re-install it, something rotten behind , well, that was true  and always happened on windows, you know it…
not lucky enough, got more errors when remove current software, anyway, it gone. I encounter errors and had to terminated installation when install Cisco vpn client again, really weird , isn’t it? it was so fuzzy and I almost got mad after 2-3 times try.

I get "Brutal force" idea this time. go to registry, manually delete keys with ‘vpn’ in LOCAL_MACHINE**, rebooted, installed it again, woohoo!, worked this time my old friend. (I KNOW, messy registry always block installations on windows, no exception on Vista)

Now I have to go to my office pc and retrieve stuff for Oracle.

About Pang

Oracle DBA working in database, fusion middleware and identity management and cloud.
This entry was posted in Network. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

